Following the conclusion of the General Elections on 9th August 2022, the swearing in of all incoming State Officers across the country is taking place starting today. Among them are Members of County Assemblies, Senators, Women Representatives, Members of Parliament and 45 Governors, all who will be sworn in to take up their official duties.

The law requires the elected officials to take up their duties within ten days after declaration of the election results. Out of the 47 counties, two counties; Mombasa and Kakamega did not hold elections due to irregularities of the ballot papers. The presidential election has also been contested in Court.

Governors will take their oath of office at public ceremonies and they will also be signing and committing to the Integrity Codes before taking their respective offices.

The integrity requirement is enshrined in Chapter Six of the Constitution, and by law, requires that all newly elected, nominated and appointed State Officers sign and commit to integrity Codes in addition to their Oath of Office pursuant to Section 40 of the leadership and Integrity Act, 2012.

According to the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) “Signing of the prescribed integrity code signifies a commitment and pledge by the State Officer that during their tenure, of office, they will uphold integrity, protect public trust and not promote or engage in any form of corruption.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.