The National Integrity Alliance (NIA) has issued ‘red cards’ to individuals with questionable integrity from taking part in the August general elections.

NIA announced the names of the leaders with questionable integrity they aim to bar from being elected into office in a statement they issued on Sunday.

In the statement, NIA noted that various political formations have nominated candidates to vie for elective seats and such characters have also presented themselves as independent candidates.

“We have been closely monitoring key developments in regard to the enforcement of Chapter 6 of the Constitution on leadership and integrity. With the 9th August 2022 general elections drawing closer, we note that various political formations have nominated candidates to vie for elective seats, and various individuals have also presented themselves to contest as independent candidates,” NIA said.

NIA said it was regrettable several political aspirants have tainted integrity.

The alliance urged the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) not to clear these individuals to contest in the August general elections.

NIA mentioned Kenya Kwanza Alliance presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua, Mike Sonko, Anne Waiguru, Ali Korane, Evans Kidero among others, for having been implicated in graft.

NIA said they generated the list above from reliable investigative reports by various institutions.
“It includes information gathered from existing reports by oversight institutions including, the Office of the Auditor General (OAG), the Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR), the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC), Parliament and various cases before the courts both concluded and active,” NIA said.

The National Intelligence Alliance is a citizen-oriented integrity and anti-corruption coalition formed by Transparency International Kenya, The Kenya Human Rights Commission, Mzalendo Trust, Inuka Kenya Ni Sisi and The Institute for Social Accountability.

The following is the complete list of politicians NIA issued red cards:
1. Rigathi Gachagua – deputy president’s nominee
2. Mike Sonko – Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant
3. Anne Waiguru – Kirinyaga gubernatorial aspirant
4. Evans Kidero – Homa Bay gubernatorial aspirant
5. Aisha Jumwa – Malindi gubernatorial aspirant
6. Babu Owino – Embakasi East parliamentary aspirant
7. Cleophas Malala – Kakamega gubernatorial aspirant
8. Samson Cherargei – Nandi senatorial aspirant
9. Daniel Manduku – Nyaribari Masaba parliamentary aspirant
10. Ali Korane – Garissa gubernatorial aspirant
11. John Wakukhe – Sirisia parliamentary aspirant
12. Samuel Arama – Nakuru Town West parliamentary aspirant
13. Kembi Gitura – Muranga senatorial aspirant
14. Fahim Twaha – Lamu gubernatorial aspirant
15. Didmus Barasa – Kimilili parliamentary aspirant
16. Joseph Samal – Isiolo North parliamentary aspirant
17. Godhana Dhadho – Tana River gubernatorial aspirant
18. Mohamed Abdi Mohamud – Wajir gubernatorial aspirant
19. Oscar Sudi – Kapseret parliamentary aspirant
20. Mathew Lempurke – Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant
21. Lilian Omolo – Embu senatorial aspirant
22. Johanna Ng’eno – Emurrua Dikir parliamentary aspirant
23. Sospeter Ojaamong’ – Teso South parliamentary aspirant
24. Philip Kaloki – Nairobi county deputy gubernatorial aspirant
25. Muthomi Njuki – Tharaka Nithi gubernatorial aspirant

Chapter Six prescribes leadership, ethics and integrity standards for persons entrusted with public office. It is a unique innovation targeted at shielding public trust from abuse. It was enacted in the hope that it could reverse the culture of corruption and impunity, clean up our politics and ensure only those who meet the integrity threshold occupy public office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *