Two new Commissioners join EACC after they were sworn in by the Chief Justice Marths Koome. The two, Monica Wanjiru Muiru and Rtd Col. Alfred Mtuweta Mushimba were nominated by President Uhuru Kenyatta in October after successfully going through an interviews and vetting process.

The two have now replaced two former Commissioners Dr. Dabar Maalim and Rose Mghoi Macharia who resigned on September 1 to pave way for a smooth transition of anti-graft agency. Four of the five members of the Commission were due to exit at the same time this December, leaving only the Chairperson.

Chief Justice Martha Koome presided over the swearing-in of two newly appointed EACC commissioners at the Supreme Court on Tuesday. Koome called on the newly appointed commissioners to serve with integrity and accountability in their new capacity as per the law.

The resignation of the duo join the anti-graft agency at a time the war against graft have intensified with EACC having shifted to a strategic decision of focusing on high impact high profile cases with the entry of Chief Executive Officer Twalib Mbarak. The other Commissioners currently serving include Vice Chairperson Sophia Lepuchirit and Mwaniki Gachoka led by the Chairperson Archbishop (Emeritus) Eliud Wabukala.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *